Embassy of the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria in Jakarta

The Constitutional Council

The Constitutional Council was established by the Constitution of 23rd February 1989. The first paragraph of Article 153 stipulates, indeed, "A Constitutional Council is established with the responsibility of ensuring the respect of the Constitution".

Its composition, its competence, the duration of its members, the areas and time of control, the competent constitutional authorities entitled to refer to it and finally the sanctions (advises and decisions) it pronounces as well as their consequences are determined by the Constitution and specified by other texts.

The composition of the Constitutional Council is specified in the first paragraph of Article 164 of the Constitution. Since the constitutional revision on 28th November 1996, it is composed of nine (09) members: three (03) designated by the President of the Republic of whom the President, two (02) elected by the National People's Assembly, two (02) elected by the National Council, one (01) elected by the Supreme Court and one (01) elected the State Council.

In accordance with Article 164 paragraphs 3 and 4 of the Constitution, the President of the Constitutional Council is designated for a sole mandate of six (06) years. The other members of the Constitutional Council carry out a sole mandate of six (06) years and are renewed by half of its members every three (03) years.

With regard to the legal authorities, the article 166 of the Constitution stipulates that the Constitutional Council is controlled by the President of the Republic, the President of the National People's Assembly or the National Council.

In addition to its attributions in terms of the constitutional control, the Constitutional Council supervises in accordance of Article 163, paragraph 2 of the Constitution, the regular operations of a referendum, presidential and legislative elections, and announces the outcomes of its operations.


Embassy of Algeria in Jakarta copyright 2002